## LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

# JULY 8, 2024

ITEM: AMENDING ORDINANCE SECTION 15:9 (b)

#### CURRENT ORDINANCE:

(b) There are established school zones within one (1) block in each direction of all schools situated within this parish, and it shall be unlawful for any person to operate any motor vehicle at a speed in excess of fifteen (15) miles per hour during school hours. School hours shall be considered from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.; from 11:45 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., and from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Appropriate signs shall be posted designating those zones which shall be considered as school zones in accordance with the provisions of this section.

### **OPTION 1:**

(b) There are established school zones within one (1) block in each direction of all schools situated within this parish, and it shall be unlawful for any person to operate any motor vehicle at a speed in excess of fifteen (15) miles per hour during school hours. The following school hours shall be considered as follows: 6:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m., and 2:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Appropriate signs shall be posted designated those zones which shall be considered school zones in accordance with the provisions of this section.

### **OPTION 2:**

- (b) There are established school zones within one (1) block in each direction of all schools situated within this parish, and it shall be unlawful for any person to operate any motor vehicle at a speed in excess of fifteen (15) miles per hour during school hours. The following school hours shall be considered as follows on the following streets:
  - 1. Norco Elementary School on 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Norco between the hours of 8:00 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 12:15 p.m. 1:30 p.m., and 3:15 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
  - 2. Ethel Schoeffner Elementary School and New Sarpy Elementary School on Plantation Road and Ormond Boulevard between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:30 a.m. 1:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.

- 3. Destrehan High School on Schexnaydre Lane, Thomas Coby Drive, and Ormond Boulevard between the hours of 6:30 a.m. 8:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m., and 2:00 p.m. 3:30 p.m.
- 4. St. Charles Borromeo, Harry Hurst Middle School, and East Bank Head Start Center on River Road and S. Destrehan Ave. between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:30 a.m. 1:00 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 5. St. Rose Elementary School and Albert Cammon Middle School on River Road and Pirate Drive between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 6. R.K. Smith Middle School on Judge Edward Dufresne Parkway between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 8:15 a.m. 11:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 3:30 p.m.
- 7. Carver Early Learning Center on Gum Street, King Street, and Hahn Street between the hours of 8:30 a.m. 9:30 a.m., 12:30 p.m. 1:15 p.m., and 3:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 8. Hahnville High School on LA Highway 90 between the hours of 6:30 a.m. 8:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m., and 2:00 p.m. 3:30 p.m.
- 9. Luling Elementary School on Angus Drive and Sugarhouse Road between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 10. Mimosa Park Elementary School on Birch Street between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 11. Lakewood Elementary School on Heather Court between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 8:15 a.m. 11:30 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 3:30 p.m.
- 12. R.J. Vial Elementary School and J.B. Martin Middle School on Barber Road between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.
- 13. Allemands Elementary School on WPA Road between the hours of 7:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m., 11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m., and 2:30 p.m. 4:30 p.m.

Appropriate signs shall be posted designated those zones which shall be considered school zones in accordance with the provisions of this section.