

St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish Courthouse 15045 Highway 18 P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, LA 70057 985-783-5000 www.stcharlesparish.gov

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 2002-0236 Version: 1 Name: Proclamation: Juneteenth

Type: Proclamation Status: Read and Filed File created: 6/17/2002 In control: Parish Council 6/17/2002

On agenda: Final action:

Enactment date: Yes

Title: Proclamation: Juneteenth

Sponsors: Desmond J. Hilaire

Indexes: **Proclamations**

Code sections:

Attachments:

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
6/17/2002	1	Parish Council	Read	

2002-0236

Proclamation: Juneteenth

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, on June 19, 1865 two and a half years after President Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation became official (January 1, 1863) Major-General Gordon Granger landed in Texas with news that the war had ended and the slaves were now free: and.

WHEREAS. Juneteenth is the oldest known celebration of the ending of slavery: and.

WHEREAS, June 19th (Juneteenth) was originated in Galveston, Texas in 1865 as the African American Emancipation Day and has spread across the United States and beyond; and.

WHEREAS. Today. Juneteenth commemorates African American Freedom and emphasizes Education and Achievement: and.

WHEREAS, It is a time for reflection and rejoicing; for assessment, self-improvement and planning the future; and,

WHEREAS, In cities across the country people of all races, nationalities and religions are joining hands to truthfully acknowledge a period in our history that shaped and continues to influence our society today.

NOW, THEREFORE, WE, THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM JUNE 19, 2002 AS

"JUNETEENTH-AFRICAN AMERICAN EMANCIPATION DAY" IN THE PARISH OF ST. CHARLES.

'RAM' RAMCHANDRAN ALBERT D. LAQUE COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A PARISH PRESIDENT

CLAYTON FAUCHEUX TERRY AUTHEMENT COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

APRIL BLACK DESMOND J. HILAIRE

File #: 2002-0236, Version: 1

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT I

LANCE MARINO

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT V

BRIAN A. FABRE COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT II

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VI

DARNELL C. ABADIE
COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT III

BARRY MINNICH COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VII