

St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish Courthouse 15045 Highway 18 P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, LA 70057 985-783-5000 www.stcharlesparish-la.gov

Legislation Text

File #: 2020-0198, Version: 1

2020-0198

Proclamation: "Juneteenth Day in St. Charles Parish"

PROCLAMATION

- WHEREAS, on January 1, 1863, the Emancipation Proclamation was signed by President Abraham Lincoln. It took several years, and the end of the civil war for the Emancipation Proclamation to become a reality for hundreds of thousands of enslaved African Americans; and,
- WHEREAS, on June 19, 1865, two and a half years after the Emancipation Proclamation became official, Major-General Gordon Granger, along with more than 1,800 federal troops, arrived in Galveston. Texas, to take control of the state and ensure freedom for the last remaining slaves in the area; and,
- WHEREAS, the newly freed African Americans rejoiced by praying, dancing, and gathering for Those gatherings recurred each year, commemorating what community feasts. became known as Freedom Day, later Jubilee Day, and then Juneteenth Independence Day: and.
- WHEREAS, since that day in 1865, currently 46 of 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia recognize Juneteenth as an official state holiday or observance; and.
- WHEREAS, Juneteenth has always been both a day of remembrance and an opportunity for African Americans to honor their history and celebrate their culture. It is a time for reflection and rejoicing, for assessment, self-improvement, and planning the future; and,
- WHEREAS, in cities across the country people of all races, nationalities, and religions are joining hands to truthfully acknowledge a period in our history that shaped and continues to influence our society today.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, THAT WE, THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY RETROACTIVELY PROCLAIM JUNE 19, 2020 AS

"JUNETEENTH DAY IN ST. CHARLES PARISH"

MATTHEW JEWELL PARISH PRESIDENT

DICK GIBBS

HOLLY FONSECA COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B

LA SANDRA DARENSBOURG GORDON COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT I

COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT II

MARY K. CLULEE

WENDY BENEDETTO COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A

NICKY DUFRENE COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

MARILYN B. BELLOCK COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT V

BOB FISHER COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VI

JULIA FISHER-PERRIER

File #: 2020-0198, Version: 1

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT III
JUNETEENTH 2020.PCL

COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VII