

Legislation Text

File #: 2017-0204, Version: 1

2017-0204

Proclamation: "241st Anniversary of American Independence"

PROCLAMATION

- **WHEREAS,** the spirit of liberty and independence inspired the Second Continental Congress to resolve "That these United Colonies are, and of right ought to be free and independent States, that they are absolved from all allegiance to the British Crown, and that all political connection between them and the State of Great Britain is, and ought to be, totally dissolved"; and,
- **WHEREAS,** the Congress appointed a Committee of Five consisting of John Adams, Roger Sherman, Benjamin Franklin, Robert Livingston, and Thomas Jefferson to draft a declaration presenting to the world the colonies' case for independence; and,
- WHEREAS, on July 4, 1776, fifty-six delegates to the Second Continental Congress risked their "Lives, their Fortunes, and their Sacred Honor" to sign the Declaration of Independence and to assert their conviction that "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness"; and,
- WHEREAS, July 4, 2017, marks the 241st Anniversary of American Independence; and,
- **WHEREAS,** it is fitting and proper to accord official recognition to this memorable anniversary, and to the patriotic exercises that will commemorate the occasion.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, THAT WE, THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM JULY 4, 2017, AS THE

"241st ANNIVERSARY OF AMERICAN INDEPENDENCE"

AND URGE OUR CITIZENS TO REFLECT ON THE BLESSINGS OF LIBERTY AND ON THE RIGHTS, PRIVILEGES, AND ATTENDANT RESPONSIBILITIES OF CITIZENSHIP IN OUR GREAT NATION. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, THAT ALL CITIZENS IN THE PARISH ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THE TWENTY-SEVENTH ANNUAL FESTIVITIES AT THE ST. CHARLES PARISH WEST BANK BRIDGE PARK IN LULING, ON MONDAY, JULY 3, 2017, FROM 6 PM-9 PM, WITH A FIREWORKS DISPLAY AT DARK.

LARRY COCHRAN PARISH PRESIDENT

PAUL J. HOGAN, PE COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B

TERRELL D. WILSON COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT I

MARY K. CLULEE COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT II

DICK GIBBS COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT III 241st American Independence2017.PCL WENDY BENEDETTO COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A

WILLIAM BILLY WOODRUFF COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

MARILYN B. BELLOCK COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT V

TRACI A. FLETCHER COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VI

JULIA FISHER-PERRIER COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VII