

Legislation Text

File #: 2024-0197, Version: 1

2024-0197

Proclamation: "Juneteenth National Independence Day in St. Charles Parish"

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Juneteenth National Independence Day, also known as Juneteenth, is a historic day that marks the emancipation of enslaved African Americans in the United States; and,

- **WHEREAS,** Juneteenth is celebrated on June 19th, the date in 1865 when Union General Gordon Granger arrived in Galveston, Texas, and announced the end of the Civil War and the abolition of slavery, two and a half years after President Abraham Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation; and,
- **WHEREAS,** Juneteenth is a day to honor and celebrate the strength, resilience, and enduring spirit of African Americans, recognizing their significant contributions to the cultural, social, and economic fabric of our community and our nation; and,
- **WHEREAS,** the observance of Juneteenth provides an opportunity for reflection, education, and a renewed commitment to achieving equity, justice, and equality for all people; and,
- **WHEREAS,** St. Charles Parish is dedicated to fostering an inclusive community that values diversity and the principles of freedom and equality for which Juneteenth stands.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, WE THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM JUNE 19, 2024 AS "JUNETEENTH NATIONAL INDEPENDENCE DAY

IN ST. CHARLES PARISH"

AND ENCOURAGE ALL RESIDENTS TO JOIN IN THE COMMEMORATION OF THIS IMPORTANT HISTORICAL EVENT BY PARTICIPATING IN EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES, CULTURAL EVENTS, AND OTHER COMMUNITY CELEBRATIONS THAT HONOR THE LEGACY AND CONTRIBUTIONS OF AFRICAN AMERICANS.

MATTHEW JEWELL PARISH PRESIDENT

MICHAEL A. MOBLEY COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A

HOLLY FONSECA COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B

LA SANDRA D. WILSON COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT I

HEATHER SKIBA COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT II JUNETEENTH 2024.PCL WALTER PILIÉ COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT III

WILLIE COMARDELLE COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

MICHELLE O'DANIELS COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT V

BOB FISHER COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VI

MICHELE DEBRULER COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VII