

St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish Courthouse 15045 Highway 18 P.O. Box 302 Hahnville, LA 70057 985-783-5000 www.stcharlesparish.gov

Legislation Text

File #: 2024-0142, Version: 1

2024-0142

Proclamation: "Flood Risk Awareness Month in St. Charles Parish"

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, flooding poses a risk to the safety and property of residents; and,

WHEREAS, flooding from storm surge is one of the biggest dangers during tropical weather; and,

WHEREAS, it is recommended that all residents purchase flood insurance regardless of their flood zone: and.

WHEREAS, the parish's Flood Aware Committee was organized in 2017 to compile a plan for public information that informs residents of local flood risks and promotes flood insurance coverage; and,

WHEREAS, the Flood Aware Committee is led by the Public Information Office and the parish's Coastal Zone Management team and includes stakeholders from the local chamber of commerce, industry, real estate, banks, and nonprofits; and,

WHEREAS, on February 17, 2020 the St. Charles Parish Council approved Resolution No. 6475 officially adopting the "Floodplain and Stormwater Management Program for Public Information" which has been submitted to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) for the Community Rating System and has reduced flood insurance rates for all St. Charles Parish residents.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, WE THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM THE MONTH OF MAY 2024 AS

"FLOOD RISK AWARENESS MONTH IN ST. CHARLES PARISH"
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, WE THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL
AND THE PARISH PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY URGE ALL COMMUNITY MEMBERS TO
PURCHASE FLOOD INSURANCE AND BE INFORMED OF LOCAL FLOOD RISKS AND
MITIGATION PRACTICES DURING THE MONTH OF MAY.

MATTHEW JEWELL PARISH PRESIDENT

WALTER PILIÉ COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT III

MICHAEL A. MOBLEY COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A WILLIE COMARDELLE COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

HOLLY FONSECA COUNCILWOMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B MICHELLE O'DANIELS COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT V

LA SANDRA D. WILSON COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT I BOB FISHER COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VI

HEATHER SKIBA
COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT II
FloodriskAwarenessMonth2024.pcl

MICHELE DEBRULER COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT VII