

St. Charles Parish

St. Charles Parish
Courthouse
15045 Highway 18
P.O. Box 302
Hahnville, LA 70057
985-783-5000
www.stcharlesparish-la.gov

Legislation Text

File #: 2001-0231, Version: 1

2001-0231

Proclamation: 225th Anniversary of American Independence

PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, the spirit of liberty and independence inspired the Second Continental Congress to resolve

"That these United Colonies are, and of right ought to be free and independent States, that they are absolved from all allegiance to the British Crown, and that all political connection between

them and the State of Great Britain is, and ought to be, totally dissolved,"; and,

WHEREAS, the Congress appointed a Committee of Five consisting of John Adams, Roger Sherman,

Benjamin Franklin, Robert Livingston, and Thomas Jefferson to draft a declaration presenting to

the world the colonies' case for independence; and,

WHEREAS, on July 4, 1776, fifty-six delegates to the Second Continental Congress risked their "Lives, their

Fortunes, and their Sacred Honor" to sign the Declaration of Independence and to assert their conviction that "We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights, that among these are Life, Liberty,

and the Pursuit of Happiness,"; and,

WHEREAS, July 4, 2001, marks the 225th Anniversary of American Independence; and,

WHEREAS, it is fitting and proper to accord official recognition to this memorable anniversary, and to the

patriotic exercises that will commemorate the occasion.

NOW, THEREFORE, WE, THE MEMBERS OF THE ST. CHARLES PARISH COUNCIL AND THE PARISH

PRESIDENT, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM JULY 4, 2001, AS THE

"225th ANNIVERSARY OF AMERICAN INDEPENDENCE"

AND URGE OUR CITIZENS TO REFLECT ON THE BLESSINGS OF LIBERTY AND ON THE RIGHTS, PRIVILEGES, AND ATTENDANT RESPONSIBILITIES OF CITIZENSHIP IN OUR GREAT NATION.

'RAM' RAMCHANDRAN

COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. A

CLAYTON FAUCHEUX

COUNCILMAN AT LARGE, DIV. B

DESMOND J. HILAIRE

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT I

BRIAN A. FABRE

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT II

DARNELL C. ABADIE

COUNCILWOMAN, DISTRICT III

ALBERT D. LAQUE PARISH PRESIDENT

TERRY AUTHEMENT

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT IV

APRIL BLACK

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT V

LANCE MARINO

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VI

BARRY MINNICH

COUNCILMAN, DISTRICT VII

225th American Independence